Economic sphere

Zurich and its surroundings are at the economic heart of Switzerland. A workforce of 1.6 million, employed at an estimated 140,000 businesses, generates a national income of 170 billion Swiss francs. The economic region covers well over one third of Switzerland’s area and, at 3.2 million inhabitants, around 45% of the population.

Six cantons, namely Schaffhausen, Solothurn, Glarus, Schwyz, Graubünden and, of course, Zurich, have joined to form a uniform economic region. This region is known as the Greater Zurich Area, both locally and abroad.

Gedruckt am 27.01.2020 22:24:23